Skip to content

The time is right.

January 19, 2011

I’m so excited to finally share with you all that I’m pregnant with our third child!

There have been so many things I’ve wanted to discuss on the blog and our Facebook page but have refrained because I wasn’t ready to tell the world. I’m still only 9 weeks along but couldn’t stay away from here any longer.

Since I’ve been MIA around here and I don’t want to bore you with 2000 words (or more), I’m going to bullet-point my thoughts surrounding this pregnancy. I’ll elaborate on them over the next few weeks.

  • This is my first pregnancy that was not planned. I discussed Natural Family Planning around the time I started the blog. I wasn’t charting, however, I am VERY in-tune with my body. Well, except I wasn’t in November. I just plain wasn’t paying very much attention and I was careless. I’m looking forward to seeing what God has in store for us with this child that He so obviously wanted in our lives.
  • I’ve been S-I-C-K. Just as I was with my two boys. Never throwing up but having horrible nausea, aversions to food smells (that trigger the nausea) and heartburn (which makes the nausea worse). I’ve done LOTS of research to figure out how to cure it but haven’t found anything that takes it away completely. What works sometimes? Sipping ice water, sucking on peppermints and definitely staying away from greasy foods.
  • I’ve been T-I-R-E-D.  Just as I was with the first two. When do I get a vacation because taking care of two little ones (ages 3 and 1) is EXHAUSTING even when you’re not pregnant. THANK the Lord for my awesome husband who so graciously steps up to the plate when I’m down and out. God knew I would need exactly who he is.
  • My first two were born in a hospital with an OB who is an advocate for Natural Childbirth. She moved to a different state about a year ago (if you live in KY and need an OB/GYN, email me). So I’ve known for a while that any future births would have to be different from my first two. I was pretty sure we’d have a home birth. I’m still pretty convinced of that and my husband and I are meeting with a home birth midwife on Thursday for a consultation.
  • I’ll be seeing a chiropractor throughout this pregnancy. I’ve already been to my first chiropractic appointment. I’ll continue to see him once a month until I get to the last couple of months when I’ll see him every other week. This is a first for me and I’m looking forward to reaping the benefits! (Thanks to my hubby who gave this to me as a Christmas gift!)
  • I’m due at the end of August. Some of you that haven’t been pregnant during the summer (hugely pregnant) will feel sorry for me but I really don’t care as I don’t know any different…my first was born on Oct 2 and my second was born on Sep 14. I have been hugely pregnant in the summer and all I can say is thank God for air conditioning (and really, it’s not that bad).

Did you like this? Don’t miss a post. Get updates for FREE when you subscribe by RSS or Email. Please feel free to share this with your friends on Facebook and Twitter too!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. abbeygirl permalink
    January 19, 2011 4:20 PM

    Try taking some vitamin B6 – I took a B complex throughout this pregnancy, and the ONLY day I was heavily nauseated was when I took my prenatal, but neglected to take the complex. Some have told me it’s specifically the B6 that counteracts the nausea.

    Also, I have gone to a chiropractor monthly nearly my whole life, and kept that up while pregnant. Here at the end (I’m due on the 23rd), I go about once a week. But I really haven’t had back problems at all, so definitely do that! It’s wonderful.

    And you’ll feel better once that placenta is built! Only a few more weeks. :)

  2. January 19, 2011 4:24 PM

    YAY!!! Congratulations Cristy!!

    Not real good publicity for NFP ;-) BUT like you said, you weren’t charting or paying close attention. It is definitely highly successful when you “follow the rules.” We’ve been charting through the FAM version of NFP and are on our 10th sucessful cycle. Woop! No more mood swings, no more remembering a pill or having to find a way to take them on the go and no more putting heaven-knows-what into my body. (stepping down from the soap box).

    So happy for you guys and your little unexpected blessing! It’s so wonderful.

  3. Trebor permalink
    January 19, 2011 4:27 PM

    Congrats! I have been thinking about babies a lot lately. I am excited for you and hope your meeting with the midwife goes well. My homebirth was my best birth experience by far. Ginger tea is great for nausea. The have a pregancy tea at my local Healthy life Market that worked great.

  4. Danielle permalink
    January 19, 2011 4:36 PM

    So happy for you! His timing is always perfect, right? :D I know you prefer more natural methods, but if you can’t get any relief from your heartburn you might try a prescription for Protonix. Not sure if every woman is allowed to have that or my dr. just decided it was worth the risk because of my ulcer.

    I am so excited for you and your new little blessing!

  5. January 19, 2011 5:04 PM

    Congratulations! What a blessing!

  6. Julie Fields permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:12 PM

    So happy to hear you share the news…I’m getting antsy myself;) I’m 9 weeks today, 3rd baby, unexpected, and I can relate to your bullet points. Can’t wait to get my energy back!! We meet with our first homebirth midwife on Tues to interview. And I LOVE being pregnant through the summer and having my belly poke out wearing swimsuits. I look forward to beach-time this summer!! Congrats and look forward to reading more!! His blessing are bountiful and I look forward to seeing His beautiful work unfold throughout this year.

  7. January 19, 2011 9:16 PM

    Congratulations, girl!! So excited for you and that sweet hubby of yours. I guess he turned out all right after all. Love you guys!

  8. January 20, 2011 8:11 PM

    Congrats!!! I am very happy for you! My homebirth was amazing(after 1 not-so-nice OB attended hospital birth and 2 wonderful CNM attended hospital births) I would do it again if God decided that we are to have #5(please God, don’t get any ideas, ok? lol)
    My midwife made me an herbal tea mixture equal parts of nettle leaf, red clover, red raspberry leaf and oatstraw which really helped my heartburn. I think this is best for 2nd and 3rd trimesters however and I would be cautious with RRL until 38 weeks or so. I switched to a HB at 36 weeks, so I didn’t worry too much about it. lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

