Skip to content

Why I May Choose A Home Birth

January 27, 2011

Brian and I interviewed our first home birth midwife on Tuesday. Just part of a journey to figure out where I’m going to give birth and who’s going to attend the birth.

I can’t believe I’m in my 10th week of pregnancy and haven’t settled on anything yet. It feels strange. Nobody’s stuck a needle in me to draw vials of blood, no one’s taken my blood pressure, we haven’t yet heard the heartbeat for the first time…

I had the same OB for my first two babies and gave birth at the same hospital. My OB was unbelievably supportive of natural childbirth. She spent more time than she ‘should’ have at our appointments…sometimes up to an hour even though we were only slotted for 10 or 15 minutes. I didn’t have to ‘fight’ for a natural birth at the hospital. Everything in my birth plan was honored.

She moved away last year. So here I am on my quest to figure out something different.

There aren’t any other OB’s that deliver at the same hospital that would be as supportive as she was. I don’t need that stress. So that hospital is out of the question. And so is the other one that is local to me, for the same reason.

The only doctor I would choose to go to delivers at a hospital that is about 30 minutes from our house. I didn’t like the 10 minute ride to the hospital while I was in labor last time. Not really wanting to be in a car for any longer (or at all) while I’m in labor this time around.

Another option…the free standing birth center…then again, it’s at least 30 minutes away.

So my options dwindle.

Truthfully, I don’t like HATE being in the hospital. A place filled with sick people. I don’t like people poking their heads in my room on what seems to be an hourly basis. I don’t like breastfeeding charts. I know what I’m doing. I don’t need a nurse to make sure I’m recording every three-minute interval of nursing, including which side it was. I don’t want my husband sleeping in an uncomfortable chair/bed. I want him in bed with me.

In the last four years, I’ve done A LOT of research on birth and pregnancy. I’ve been fascinated by The Business of Being Born, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth, The Birth Book by Dr. Sears and have done countless hours of research on the internet. And I’ve come to the conclusion that I want to give birth in my home.

My (sentimental) husband’s biggest fear…That he won’t ever be able to sell our house if I birth one of our babies in it.

Stay tuned to see how this all turns out.

Don’t miss a post. Get updates for FREE when you subscribe by RSS or Email. Please feel free to share this with your friends on Facebook and Twitter too!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 2:38 PM

    Don’t take this wrong…but I love your husband:)

  2. Julie Fields permalink
    January 27, 2011 3:02 PM

    He’s priceless!!

  3. Kimberly permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:20 PM

    Christy, that is SO FUNNY! I can’t believe that’s his biggest fear. It’s not like you’re going to stain the carpet, and it’s the complete opposite of someone DYING in a house! Besides, is that going to be in the listing or something?
    “4 bedroom, 2 story house, large living area, open kitchen, homebirth in 2011 in master bedroom with 2 walk-in closets and attached private bath…”
    LOL!

    • January 28, 2011 8:26 AM

      He’s not worried about someone not wanting to buy it…he’s worried that he won’t want to sell it…even though we know we’ll have to someday.

  4. January 28, 2011 11:25 AM

    That is what I am going to be sad about when we leave our house too! But being a military family, we know our time here is limited. We may very well rent it out, but who knows how long we will actually live in it. It makes my heart so happy to see the place everyday where my son was born. When I take a bath with him in our big garden tub, I whisper to him, “this is where you were born, sweet boy.” :)

  5. January 29, 2011 4:01 PM

    Bravo Mama! You only get to have this baby once! Sounds like you’re following your instincts — blessings on your journey!

  6. Tania (book winner) permalink
    January 31, 2011 2:56 AM

    hey! congrats! and go you!
    make the choices you need to make with a whole heart. i wrote on fb i transferred on my own terms, a lot was due to my support system… here, i couldnt choose my hb middy, and didnt click…. i didnt feel supported and decided mid labour – albeit slow, that i needed others around me too. i wish i asked my doula over… get one! but …. doesnt matter, what is done is…. i owned that hospital space and noone was going to tell me what to do!
    power to you mama!
    ps – my vbac!
    sorry for typos – nak!
    about to open ina mays guide to childbirth – thanks to you!
    xx

  7. February 21, 2011 10:19 AM

    Hi there! Can’t remember how I found your blog, but its my first time over here and I’m enjoying it. Just wanted to mention that I had a home birth and it was lovely. My first was born in the hospital without any pain meds, but the signing release forms and trying to convince them that I did not need a saline drip between strong contractions convinced me that perhaps that hospital was not where I wanted to be the next time around. (I waited to go to the hospital until right at the end so I wouldn’t have to fight off the nurses for very long.) I did a home birth with my second and it was lovely. My husband and I both were so glad we’d made that choice. I’m sure you’ll make the best decision for your family. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

