Skip to content

Why Cloth Diapers

July 19, 2010

First, I have to let you know that before I gave birth to my first child I thought nobody used cloth diapers anymore. I mean, why would people NOT use disposables . . . why would anyone choose to wash poopy diapers in their washing machine . . . who wants the work?

To my surprise cloth diapering was (and is) definitely growing in popularity . . . probably because it’s “green” and economical.  I must admit that at first I just wanted to use cloth diapers because I thought they were so cute! And then I read Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover.  So now we had to do it so we could save money.  Those aren’t the only reasons though.

I wouldn’t consider myself a “green” individual but I did start to feel some sense of guilt at the sheer amount of diapers I would be tossing in the landfills (diapers that don’t biodegrade for up to 500 years)!  And then I started thinking about all the chemicals that were touching my precious baby’s most sensitive parts.  Well, it was all over.

My hubby agreed on the saving money basis alone (because he is UBER thrifty) and we jumped into the cloth diapering world when my first child was about three months old. My second baby (^ up there) has been in cloth diapers from the moment we came home from the hospital, in Sep ’09. That’s right, I haven’t spent one penny on disposable diapers for him!

I’m hoping these posts will help you make the decision to cloth diaper your precious little ones. And I’m hoping you can learn from some of my early mistakes so you have an easier time jumping in!

Oh, and to answer my own questions: Poopy diapers in a washing machine aren’t so bad (if you already have kids you know that poopy clothing and other disgusting messes get thrown in the wash anyways) and it’s really not that much work – an extra load of laundry every 2-3 days. And because I use prefolds almost exclusively, there is virtually no folding.

Question for you . . . Have you thought about using cloth diapers but haven’t jumped in yet? Why not? If you do use cloth diapers, what were your reasons for using them?

Subscribe to my blog, “Like” my Facebook page and/or add me on Twitter to get blog updates. I’ll be posting more on cloth diapering over the next few days!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 5:40 PM

    I loved cloth diapering so much! I get all nostalgic when I come across the bins with our old cloth diapers in them. It is so hard to let them go! Looking forward to reading more from you. 🙂

    • July 21, 2010 6:35 PM

      Thanks Megan! Would love to have you around here! BTW – I ran across your blog through Marla’s blog. She’s my cousin (well, my husband’s actually) and friend. Love reading your blog.

  2. Bobbie Hardy permalink
    August 23, 2010 1:55 PM

    I love cloth diapers, matter of fact, my husband says I collect them. If I see them at a garage sale, I pick them up. I sanitize them then use them. My whole family thinks I am weird because I will not use disposables. Don’t want my sons boy parts in with all those horrible chemicals!! I will soon have two in cloth diapers, and am not worried a bit!

  3. Bethany permalink
    October 27, 2010 2:41 PM

    How much money do you save?

    • November 2, 2010 9:20 PM

      At one point I figured we’d save a couple thousand dollars per child based on a child being diaper-free at age 3. We also use cloth wipes so I save money there as well. I haven’t noticed a significant increase in our water bill (maybe $5/month) and there’s no noticeable difference in our electric bill. Not sure how much I’m spending on laundry detergent but I only do 2 loads/week of diapers and use barely to the first line in the cup each time. And I coupon so I pay nearly nothing for detergent anyway.

      You can easily jump into cloth-diapering with a $500 or less investment. And the beautiful part is that you can resell everything when you’re done (on diaperswappers.com).

Trackbacks

  1. maybe a bit crunchy? «

Leave a Reply

