Skip to content

Natural Family Planning

July 21, 2010

Natural Family Planning is NOT the same as the rhythm method. Want to learn more? Keep reading!

Saving time again today so I can keep cranking on the promised cloth-diapering post. I read this blog post back in February. So glad I get to share it with you now.

We don’t use the Fertility Awareness Method (FAM) yet but I did read the book she highlights, Taking Charge of Your Fertility, 10th Anniversary Edition: The Definitive Guide to Natural Birth Control, Pregnancy Achievement, and Reproductive Health, and got pregnant on the first try with both of my boys, thanks in part to the info I gleaned from the text! (A big Thank You! to my friend Amy K. for giving me the book after she was done having kids. I thought I was done with it so gave it to my little sis and then I realized I can’t live without it so bought another copy for myself!)

I DO plan to use FAM as soon as I’m done breastfeeding and bearing children. It’s just a little too difficult (for me) when your cycles are all out of whack.

So, here’s the post: Let’s Talk about N-F-P! (answering The Birth Control Question)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 6:10 PM

    Devin and I are using this method and love it. I was on the pill for about a year (including the time leading up to our marriage to get my body acclimated) and I am sooo much happier using the Fertility Awareness Method for birth control as outlined in “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.” GREAT book! We have been use F.A.M. for about 5 months now and it has been very successful for us (aka – I’m not pregnant.)

    It is definitely not a method that many people are familiar with, or that gets much positive press (even my GYN was skeptical), but in reality it is a GREAT method that I think more women need to be aware of!

    *There IS a big difference between Natural Family Planning and Fertility Awareness Method – I would recommend anyone considering either read the book mentioned above. It does a really good job explaining the differences.

  2. July 21, 2010 7:46 PM

    I am definitely more interested in NFP or FAM (I confess…I don’t know the difference) than I ever thought I’d be. I took BCP for about 4 years before we tried to conceive our first. It took us 7 months, and my cycles were always irregular (hence the longer time it took us to conceive). BFing was good enough birth control for me for close to a year (but I was taking the mini-pill just in case and didn’t even have a period until the week before my daughter’s first b-day). We got pregnant as soon as I quit taking that (and was essentially only BFing once a day). I took the mini-pill for a couple of months after having my second, but it seemed to be affecting my milk supply, so we switched to barrier methods.

    Once I quit BFing my second (a LOT sooner than I wanted) and started ovulating again, we have used a combination of barrier and FAM. And you know what, for the first time in my life, I have regular-length cycles! I’m so much more in tune to what’s going on with my body and can generally predict my “fertile days”. I doubt I ever will take BCP again. I didn’t ever really notice a difference in how I felt, but I liked how in the post your linked to the author said something to the affect that taking medicines implies that something is broken. I worry about the long-term effects of manipulating my hormones as well.

    • July 21, 2010 8:10 PM

      To many natural family planning just means “the rhythm method” which is very different from FAM (charting, temping, etc). I like to use FAM so there is no confusion.

      I took BCP for the first 6 years we were married (we’ve been married 11 now) and despite changing the type several times I constantly had hormonal issues (including horrible night sweats). We’ve been doing what you do Risha – using barrier methods although I’m super sensitive to my fertile periods, which is a big reason why I was able to get pregnant the first time both times – and probably why we got boys – LOL.

      I wonder how many women have side effects from BCP that could easily be resolved by using FAM instead.

Trackbacks

  1. maybe a bit crunchy? «
  2. The time is right. «

Leave a Reply

