Skip to content

So Many Choices, So Little Time

July 23, 2010

I am rapidly running out of time tonight! Aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh! I so wanted to give you another post on cloth diapers tonight but it’s just going to have to wait. It’s 11pm, I have a few more things to get together for our 24 hour trip to ‘fun at the farm’ (in unbelievable Heat & Humidity, aka: Drinkable Heat), I still have to pump and for some crazy reason I think I should actually get a bit of sleep tonight (probably because I know I will get about half of my usual sleep tomorrow night).

So, I’ll leave you by linking to another blog post I read recently. HERE you go. When you’re done reading, come on back here and let me know what you think.

The author says, “All we can do is make educated choices based on knowledge and yes, instinct. Then we must accept that no matter what our choice, there will be consequences, some of them possibly unpleasant.”

This struck me because back in December 2009, when P was just 3 months old, I had a similar revelation (an epiphany – I love that word). It was a pivotal moment in my parenting.

I tend to over-analyze everything (pretty sure I’ve said that before ::smile::). I read too much. Way too much. I would complain to others about what my children were and weren’t doing (that I thought they shouldn’t and should be doing) and they would tell me to THROW OUT THE BOOKS. I thought THEY were crazy. I didn’t get it. Some of the information in those books is good (really good) but I was relying on IT instead of God.

My moment came one evening when I was home alone with baby #2. He would NOT go to sleep. My mind was going crazy over what I should do. His daddy could usually get him to sleep if I couldn’t, but he wasn’t home. I was beside myself trying to figure out what I should do. Do I leave him to cry? Do I bring him to bed with me? Do I continue rocking him? Nursing him? I was trying to figure out which was the lesser of the *evils*. I was scared to death that whatever choice I made would ruin him for life.

As I sat holding him in his rocking chair I FINALLY thought, you know what, I live in a fallen world. I’m not a perfect person (Romans 3:23) which means I cannot make the perfect decision every time. I FINALLY gave it over to God. So, now, I do the best I can and pray a lot. And instead of my parenting being all about how I’m going to get the kid to sleep or whatever else it is that’s bugging me, it’s about how am I going to love him the best I can. Healthy sleep habits are still important in our house but my attitude is so much better. I’m really focusing on enjoying my kids instead of trying to ‘manage them’.

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to my blog, “Like” my Facebook page and/oradd me on Twitter to get blog updates.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana Milan permalink
    July 24, 2010 11:12 AM

    I agree. When our kids are older we will not be thinking about the little things. When they are graduating from college we will not be counting the temper tantrums or the missed naps. I know many parents who, with a smile, speak of their older children and how awful they were as infants and toddlers. These same parents are so proud and a bit sad as they see their very bright, well-adjusted, and loving children off to college.

  2. July 27, 2010 3:12 PM

    This has been an important lesson for me to learn as well. I love reading and gathering info on everything, particularly as it relates to mothering my children, and then I get obsessed. I panic over making the right decisions in certain things. I had a moment like yours, only it was with Isabelle and she was only a couple years old. She wouldn’t sleep, and I was terrified that if we rocked her to sleep that we would be rocking her to sleep until she was 5 years old!! It was silly, really, but who can explain the mind of a post-partum mom functioning on no sleep herself! I would say that I have learned a lot in the last 3 years about trusting God to give me the ability to make the right decision and let Him handle the rest. It doesn’t stop me from worrying from time to time, but I’m learning. Thanks for the reminder!

Trackbacks

  1. Mouth Wide Open (aka Part 2) «

Leave a Reply

