Skip to content

Important VBAC News

July 24, 2010

In light of the news about VBAC’s this week I have to take a break from cloth-diaper-talk. We’ll get back to it though, I promise!

A little disclaimer first: I have never had a c-section. I have however spoken with many women who have had c-sections and desired and/or had a VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean). I don’t claim to be an expert in this area but I believe I’ve heard enough to comment on it. If I’m way off-base, please, someone tell me (just be gentle).

So, what’s the news? On July 21, 2010 the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) released THIS statement, issuing “less restrictive VBAC guidelines.”

What’s the big deal? ACOG and in turn, OB’s and hospitals have made it VERY difficult over the last several years for a woman to have a VBAC. In a survey done in 2009 the International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN) found that roughly 50% of US hospitals either did not allow women to attempt a VBAC or didn’t have any doctors on staff who would accept a patient planning a VBAC (source: http://www.ican-online.org). VBAC has not been a real option for a lot of women. Not being allowed to attempt a VBAC can affect a woman in many ways. One of our pureMotherhood Facebook mom’s, Jennifer, said this about the news release: “this is fabulous… i just had my 2nd CS no prior vaginal births and am not done having babies. I really want to have a natural childbirth!”

I saw this quote today and think it’s very appropriate to this subject.

Whenever and however you intend to give birth, your experience will impact your emotions, your mind, your body and your spirit for the rest of your life. ~Ina May Gaskin

Wow. When women are all but required to schedule a repeat c-section instead of being able to attempt a VBAC what does that say to their emotions, mind and spirit? When your basically told that your body is broken and you have no chance to prove it otherwise, how does that affect you? I think the implications are HUGE.

I’m still not a huge fan of ACOG (as they generally advocate for their members, the doctors, not patients) but I am glad they have taken this step. It could really be life-changing for MANY women.

There were some good articles written about the statement and I’m linking them here for you.

ICAN Responds to New ACOG Guidelines on VBAC

VBACFacts.com

In the future I plan to post more on VBAC’s. In the meantime, if you’d like to comment about your experience either having a VBAC or not being allowed to VBAC previously, I’d love to hear from you! If you don’t feel comfortable commenting, please don’t hesitate to email me.

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to my blog, *like* my Facebook page and/or add me on Twitter to get blog updates.

One Comment leave one →
  1. reldoweda permalink
    August 20, 2010 10:32 AM

    Very Interesting!
    Thank You!

Leave a Reply

