Skip to content

What you MUST know about . . . Cloth Diapers (Part II)

July 27, 2010

Back to our regular scheduled programming . . . Had a blast hanging with my husband’s extended family this past weekend! I think I’ve fully recovered, so here goes another blog post! And if you want to see what I was up to over the weekend, head on over to my friend Marla’s blog (and DH’s cousin).

What do you do with the dirty/wet diapers and how often do you wash them?

You need a wetbag to hold the wet and dirty diapers. It’s called a wetbag because it holds wet items, not because it’s wet. I use a Planet Wise Pail Liner, inside a kitchen-size trash can with a lid. I wash my diapers every 2-3 days. When I had one child I washed them every other day, in the evening, after he went to bed. 10 months into having child #2 I just can’t get that schedule to work out. So, when the pail is full I do diaper laundry (or my WONDERFUL hubby does them – like now!). I wouldn’t recommend washing any less than every 2-3 days because your diapers can get mildew spots on them if you wait too long (don’t ask me how I know this).

What do you do with the diapers when you’re out and about or on trips or vacations?

We have always continued to cloth diaper our kids while traveling because it’s been possible. We’ve gone away for up to two nights and just brought the diapers home with us to wash. I have also traveled across the country, by air, with my cloth diapers. We visit my family in CA so I just do my diaper laundry as usual. We’re heading to Walt Disney World in September. I have no idea if the hotel has a washer and dryer. Some do but I haven’t confirmed it. Believe it or not, I’m actually really hoping they do because I don’t want to deal with disposables (because cloth is what I know)!

So, when you travel, even if it’s just running errands, you need smaller wetbags. You’ll want to have one or more for your diaper bag and/or traveling. I have several but really like the Planet Wise wetbags. The Wet/Dry Bag is great for a day-long outing or quick overnight trip. The Hanging Wet/Dry Bag is perfect for a longer trip. And their smallest wetbag is great for church or a short outing, when you’ll just need one diaper.

Will daycares use your cloth diapers?

I don’t have any experience with this personally but I’ve heard that many will use them. They tend to prefer pocket diapers or all-in-ones. Don’t hesitate to ask if they’ll use them. And make sure you take a diaper and wetbag with you so they understand what you’re asking of them. I don’t see why it would be an issue. I have always cloth-diapered my kids at church. I just take an ‘easy’ diaper with me to church (a Bumgenius or a fitted diaper with velcro closure and a Thirsties Duo Wrap with velcro closure).

I know you all have more questions about cloth-diapering . . . leave a comment here or on the pureMotherhood Facebook page and I’ll work on answering them for you!

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to my blog, “Like” my Facebook page and/or add me on Twitter to get blog updates. You’ll also find links to great resources on childbirth, breastfeeding and cloth-diapering on my Facebook page and Twitter!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 10:14 AM

    Or…just recycle the hundreds of plastic grocery bags you have lying around your house!!!

Leave a Reply

