Skip to content

What’s in Formula Anyway?

July 28, 2010

I just had to post this. I read this blog post a little over a week ago on a blog called Blacktating (Breastfeeding News and Views from a Mom of Color). The author, Elita, brought up a point I have never pondered. I’m copying and pasting a portion from her article. I hope you’ll head over there and read the post in it’s entirety.

“So you’ve noticed lately that the formula companies have all kinds of extra special ingredients they’ve added to the formula. These additives are things that are naturally found in breastmilk, like DHA, ARA and probiotics. Of course these additives are not the same as what is found in breastmilk, because that’s impossible. So the formula companies have to get them somewhere else, like from algae. There’s no proof that these additives confer any benefit to the baby, save for a few formula-sponsored studies.

We all know by now that breastmilk is THE best source of nutrition for our babies. God knew what He was doing. However, a lot of women still choose to formula-feed their children. A common argument is that “so-and-so wasn’t breastfed and they turned out fine.” Yes, our babies can survive on other forms of nutrition, but just because they turn out “fine” doesn’t mean it’s what’s best for them. We have no way of knowing how they would have turned out differently had they been breastfed instead.

Please understand, I don’t say any of this to make a mom feel guilty about choices she’s made in the past. My only goal is to fully inform women so they can make educated decisions for themselves and their families as they go forward.

Anyway, if you’re so inclined, go check out the Blacktating blog to read the full article.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 7:13 PM

    Thanks for linking to my post. I definitely think if I had chosen to formula feed, I’d always wonder if my son could be healthier, smarter, taller, whatever. Breastmilk allows your baby to reach his or her full potential, whatever that is, while formula doesn’t. Whenever people say, “I wasn’t breastfed and I’m just fine”, I wonder, “How do you know?” Do you blame your diabetes on not being breastfed? Or the fact that you’re overweight? What if you get cancer or have asthma? I just don’t think many people connect the dots from their health problems to a lack of being breastfed.

    • July 29, 2010 7:16 PM

      Thanks for the comments Elita. I also wonder why we’re ok with just being ‘fine’? In what other areas of our lives are we content with ‘fine’ when we have other feasible options? Not many. We can’t settle for ‘fine’ when something better is within reach.

Leave a Reply

