Skip to content

maybe a bit crunchy?

September 2, 2010

Photo Credit: little blue hen

Yes, crunchy. Like granola.

Haven’t heard of this term? Or maybe you’ve heard it but have NO IDEA what it means!

Before I had kids (and started using cloth diapers) I didn’t even know you could describe people the same way you would granola – or an apple or carrots, or whatever you like that’s crunchy. Potato chips anyone?

Crunchy generally means a person who takes a natural approach to life and parenting. Here’s a list of things that may characterize a crunchy parent. There are varying degrees of crunchiness. One need not do all of these things to be considered crunchy. I’d say I’m maybe a bit crunchy because our family does or believes in some of these things.

So, are you crunchy? Super crunchy? A bit crunchy? Wanna-be crunchy? Interested in crunchy? Not crunchy in the least bit? Or maybe this post just left you wanting a big ol’ bowl of granola.

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to my blog, “Like” my Facebook page and/or Add me on Twitter to get blog updates. You’ll also find links to great resources on childbirth, breastfeeding and cloth-diapering on my Facebook page and Twitter.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 12:09 PM

    Hmmmm… well, I practice the Fertility Aware Method (a more accurate NFP method). I plan to wear my future babies and I am open to considering natural birth and cloth diapers… I somewhat recycle too. I’m brand new to all this “crunchy” stuff and find myself slowly become more and more granola.

    SO! I guess that makes me “sorta-kinda-almost” crunchy with the potential for becoming “a bit” crunchy.

  2. Dana Milan permalink
    September 2, 2010 12:47 PM

    Let’s see – my kids eat an organic cereal bar in the morning, I recycle, I breast feed, my epidurals didn’t work (I know, this doesn’t count 🙂 , my baby comes to bed in the wee hours of the morning so I can nurse while getting a few extra minutes of sleep, we had 2 oopsy babies, (ok I am not the poster child for Natural Family Planning!), And I teach my kids all day, when they are not off at school (at least my 6 yr that is.) Not sure what this makes me – soggy with a bit of crunch?

  3. Debra Haas permalink
    October 4, 2010 5:14 PM

    Well, I exclusively breast feed,
    I had my baby at home in a birthing pool,
    I babywear
    I am not planning to vaccinate unless needed (ie. tetanus),
    I believe in leaving boys intact,
    I am planning to homeschool
    and I would like to cloth diaper…
    Half crunchy?

  4. November 8, 2010 12:08 PM

    Well, I always consider myself a wanna-be crunchy. Lets see…I generally buy organic and whole foods, but I am a lover of the convenience provided by processed foods. Also a fan of salt and fat, hahahaha. I cloth diaper my daughter, and both of my kids breastfed until they weaned themselves around the age of two. I co-slept with both my kids until they were about 18 months. I find myself in general agreement with attachment parenting philosophies. I wore both my babies, except when I didn’t (I also love my running stroller…) We use NFP. BUUUUTTT…I’ve had two c-sections, the second one planned. And my kids are fully vaccinated, which is the one thing I will never be on board with when it comes to crunchiness! Although I did take them down to the health department numerous times and have each vax done one at a time, because I don’t see the point in giving 4 or 5 injections at once. So I won’t ever be fully crunchy, but I’m OK with it 🙂

  5. November 29, 2010 10:56 AM

    I’m getting crunchier as I get older. LOL My husband is crunchy in some aspects and not at all in others. So sometimes I feel I have to be a submissive wife and go that way also. But I/we:

    * Try to buy organic and healthy food as much as possible
    * We are in the process of only using cloth napkins and “un” paper towels
    * We cloth diaper about 1/2 time… going to be moving more to full time as soon as I get my Black Friday orders in the mail 🙂
    * I breastfeed, and plan to wean this baby at around age 2
    * I We use some AP
    * We delay some vaccines and do not give others(flu, Gardasil)
    * I babywear
    * We co-sleep about 1/2 time… put baby/toddler in their own bed and when they wake up they come in ours

  6. Haila Hill permalink
    November 29, 2010 12:33 PM

    I recycle, exclusively breastfeed, use steam products rather than chemicals to clean, and often wear my baby in a pouch. Other than that, I’m rather anti-crunchy! In fact, I often find myself saying, “Wow, I don’t seem to fit in here!” when I read the posts and comments, but I still love this site!! It’s very educational, whether I agree with or practice the info or not. Keep up the good work!

  7. December 12, 2010 3:08 AM

    Crunchier than that there bowl o’ granola.
    Organic/local/homegrown foods, natural birther (from now on, at home unassisted)
    Babywearer, breastfeeder (hoping on extended BFing), baby led weaner, cosleeper, antivax, intactivist, unschooleing, cloth nappying, chemical free, recycling/upcycling, homesteading attached parent… what’s family planning? 😉 LOL
    And PROUD of my informed choices that I made after MUCH research.

Leave a Reply

