Skip to content

Memories – WDW with Young Children

September 25, 2010

I’m not taking my kids to Disney World until they’re old enough to remember it. Yep, I said it. More than once. That was then, this is now.

The Lion King Show at Animal Kingdom

One of mine and my husband’s favorite vacations was a four-night trip to Walt Disney World, back in May of honestly-I-don’t-remember. Probably 6-7 years ago or so, way before kids. I remember feeling like a kid again the moment we walked on to Main Street in the Magic Kingdom. I remember seeing other kids have the time of their life and thinking that I couldn’t wait to share this magical experience with my (future) children.

But I wanted them to remember it so we wouldn’t be going until they were all older.

And then my mom called. She got an email about a great Disney deal in September. She and my step-dad were already planning to be visiting us (they live in CA, we live in IN). And we were happily planning a trip with them to the Smoky Mountains (Gatlinburg, TN). She thought we wouldn’t want to go with small children. But who can resist a magical vacation to Walt Disney World (especially when your parents offer to foot a large part of the bill)?! We started planning.

Who cares if the kids wouldn’t remember? They would have fun regardless. And WE would remember their joy and excitement! I likened it to a First Birthday party. You go all out for that first party, knowing full-well your little one-year-old will never remember it. You do it for your memories, not theirs. We do all kinds of things for our kids before they’ll remember it. We don’t just set them in a locked, padded room with food and water and hope for the best. Everything we do with them builds who they are.

Little P with Grandma at The Lion King Show

And you should have seen my little one-year-old! He had the time of his little life. I’ll never forget watching him watch The Lion King show at Animal Kingdom. I’m pretty sure I missed most of the show because I was enchanted with my little boy’s reaction. He was clapping and waving his arms in the air and smiling the whole time. I don’t care if he doesn’t remember that. I will. I’ll be able to tell him about it and show him pictures. Though he won’t remember it, it makes me happy to know that he was so joyful.

What kinds of things have you done with your kids to build memories or just to see them happy?

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to my blog, “Like” my Facebook page and/or Add me on Twitter to get blog updates.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel K permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:24 PM

    I am so glad that you guys had a great time! You will have wonderful memories for forever :).

Leave a Reply

